top of page

Join our standardization community 

National standardization bodies will support you at every stage of your work and proposal development, whether for basic or applied research or an innovation with commercial potential.

If you're interested in getting started with standardization, reach out to your local standardization partner and start building your network of potential project partners. Check out the latest news and events in the standardization community below. 

Join our standardization community 

​Take your time and discover the world of standardization.

Our eLearning tool helps you to explore and understand standardization and why it can support growth in innovations and research.

Discover how innovative concepts and new technologies can reach the market with the help of standardization

Anchor 2
Anchor 3
hsbooster_logo_final (1).png

Standardization support for H2020 and Horizon Europe projects


A glossary of key technical terms used in standardization 


The European Committee for Standardization (CEN) is a public standards organization whose task is to provide an efficient infrastructure for the development, maintenance and distribution of coherent sets of standards and specifications to foster the EU economy, welfare of citizens and the environment.


CENELEC stands for European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization with the  responsibility for European standardization in the area of electrical engineering.


A CEN-CENELEC Workshop Agreement (CWA) is an agreement developed and approved that forms the basis of a new standard. It is created and approved in a fast and flexible 'workshop' that is open to anyone with an interest in the development of that agreement. 


More information


European Standards (EN) are technical standards developed by CEN, CENELEC and ETSI


The European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) is an independent, not-for-profit, standardization organization for equipment makers and network operators in the European telecommunications industry. ETSIs mission ist to produce globally-applicable standards for Information and Communications Technologies (ICT).

Horizon Europe

Horizon Europe is a planned 7-year scientific research initiative developed by the EU meant to succeed the current Horizon 2020 program. The goal is to raise EU science spending levels by 50% over the years 2021-2027.


Horizon 2020 (H2020) is the EU's framework programme for research and innovation.
With nearly €80 billion of funding available over 7 years (2014 to 2020), it promises more breakthroughs, discoveries, and world-firsts by taking great ideas from the lab to the market.  


The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) developes international standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies.


ISO has two meanings:
International Standardisation Organization. It's an independent, non-governmental, and int. organisation with a membership of 164 national standards bodies. ISO brings together experts from all over the world to develop int. standards.
Naming Format of international standards, e.g. ISO/IEC 81714 Design of graphical symbols for use in the technical documentation of products 


The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is an agency of the United Nations responsible for information and communication technologies.


CENELEC and its National Committees (NCs) work jointly in the interest of European harmonization, creating both standards requested by the market and harmonized standards in support of European legislation.


National Contact Points (NCPs) support the EU Framework Programmes for research and innovation. They help interested institutions and individual applicants with technical and administrative questions, as well as with finding them partners for project proposals. Each EU country has its own NCP network. 


NSB stands for national standardisation body. CEN's national members are the NSBs of the 28 European Union countries, the Republic of North Macedonia, Serbia, and Turkey, plus 3 countries of the European Free Trade Association (Iceland, Norway, and Switzerland). 


The content of standards and standardisation documents is developed by experts who represent interested parties working in technical committees (TC). Technical committees should include all stakeholders, such as from business and industry, universities, research and innovation organisations, industry associations, public authorities, and more. 


Stands for Technical Specification and is a normative document which provides specifications in experimental circumstances and/or evolving technologies. It is periodically reviewed and brings no obligation to be adopted at national level

Anchor 1

Useful links

CEN & CENELEC provide platforms for the development of European Standards and other technical specs

CEN, the European Committee for Standardization

CENELEC, the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization is responsible for standardization in the electrotechnical engineering field

Small Business Standards brings together SMEs and European standardization

Standards support the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) of the UN 2030 Agenda

ISO, the international organization for standardization develops and publishes international standards

The international electrotechnical commission publishes international standards for electrotechnology


This online library offers a collection of research publications on standards and standardization.

bottom of page